Category Edinburgh International Book Festival

Faithless by Kjell Ola Dahl

“The sun coming through the window made it difficult to see the writing on the screen. Gunnarstranda drew the curtain. Then his mobile beeped. It was a text from Tove. She wanted to know which version of ‘Come Rain or Come Shine’ he liked best.  What sort of question was that? There were loads of […]

Edinburgh Book Festival news…

The talk has been talked for a few years now. The damage done to Charlotte Square every year as the Edinburgh International Book Festival sets up its tents and invites thousands of visitors, can no longer be ignored. I’ve been torn between agreeing with the square’s owners that you can’t go on and cause more […]

Blackout by Ragnar Jonasson

‘There had been no preconceptions about Iceland in her mind; the only things about which she had been certain were that it would be cold, probably snowy, and it might be dark’ Blackout, Chapter 13, Ragnar Jonasson We have been following author Ragnar Jonasson‘s writing career with interest as his books are translated from Icelandic […]

Our Top Picks at Edinburgh International Book Festival 2016

With more than 800 authors appearing in over 700 events choosing what to go to can sometimes be difficult. We have done the hard work for you!  Our picks for the Edinburgh International Book Festival of events which are not yet sold out for fans of Nordic and Scottish crime writing are : JM Gulvin & […]

Books in Bergen: A Review by Ewa Sherman

    Having followed in Varg Veum’s footsteps previously, while reading Gunnar Staalesen’s   We Shall Inherit the Wind, I wanted to go back to Bergen. Luckily I found the best reason possible: the Literary Festival (De Litterære Festspill) organised by the Godfather of crime fiction himself Gunnar Staalesen between 26th and 28th May 2016. […]

Crime in the Wee County #BookWeekScot

As winter approaches and it gets darker and darker our minds may turn to curling up with a good book in front of the fire or perhaps what to buy for the crime fiction reader in your life for Christmas.  The wee county is hosting a couple top notch crime events this month that can […]

Nordic Noir News #fridayfeeling #SummerReading

Its Friday so lets have some good news… July sees the release of Dark Branches by Nik Frobenius a Norwegian author and screenwriter (think thriller Insomnia with Al Pacino and Robin Williams). This book is published by Scottish publishers Sandstone Press who are worth keeping an eye on if you like translated crime fiction. They […]

Deal Noir

Originally posted on icelandnoir:
If you happen to be in the south-east (of England, that is, not the south-east of Iceland) in March, then check out Deal Noir, a small but beautifully crafted one-day crime fiction event taking place on the 28th of March in the coastal town of Deal, overlooking the Goodwin Sands. It…

Review: ‘The Mistake’ by Grant Nicol

Grant Nicol’s novella The Mistake will be released on January 13th by Number Thirteen Press. This must surely be a case of two negatives creating a positive because it’s a fast paced, decently researched, imaginative piece of writing. Set in Reykjavik, Iceland, the story contains some comment on the uglier elements of modern society and […]

Issue #one – Scotland, Comics and Nordic Noir

I am a book lover and an art lover and fell in love with this medium at a young age. Holidays with the european side of my family meant that Tintin, Asterix, Suske en Wiske and MAD were always around. At home in Scotland it was The Broons and Oor Wullie at Christmas and those […]