Wolves in the Dark by Gunnar Staalesen #bookgiveaway #giveaway

Dear Varg

Your lawyer told me that you have been arrested and are being held in prison for something unimaginable.  I hope this letter gets to you eventually. I can’t believe that they would think you have anything to do with a child pornography ring. You are a former social worker. Are they mad? Who do these accusers think they are? Who planted this stuff on your PC? You have a reputation as one of Bergen’s favourite private detectives but some shady character is obviously trying to ruin that.

I guess you have lots of time in there to think about who may have set you up. Have you managed to pinpoint it yet? I’m sure you will figure it out. Have you worked with any computer experts in the last few years or someone who was hurt so badly they would want to take revenge against you?  Imagine if you escaped from there and managed to prove your innocence. It would be risky but you could do it. You have some friends in Bergen you can trust who would help. Whatever happens be careful Varg.

I know you have been drinking lots in the last few years. You have been surviving not living.   You may not be proud of your actions over the last few years but you can move on, find your true self and heal. The negativity is a symptom from being out of balance. You have a strong will to live Varg. This is one of the things I love about you. You are a good man.

Yes, I love you. There, I said it. I hope you feel ready to move forward after the last few difficult years. We have both lost people we loved in different ways; you your true love Karin and my first love John Rebus. They will always have special places in our hearts but we should spend the time we have left together. Lets not be sensible. Life is too short. I feel like we have so much to tell each other and discover together. People will talk and say we are not right for each other: the age gap, life’s baggage, the physical distance, your addiction,  but I know they are wrong. We are on a journey together that is so exciting. My heart is pounding just thinking about it. I remember our previous encounters with happiness, even the Bergen rain cannot dampen my feelings for you.

Love has found us Varg.
M

 

Wolves

Wolves in the Dark by Gunnar Staalesen (translated by Don Bartlett) is released on June 30th 2017 by Orenda Books. We have a free copy of this book to give away. Please share/retweet/reblog this article to enter.  A name will be chosen at random on June 30th and we will be in touch for details.

If you want to read some other reviews of Wolves in the Dark you can follow the blog tour or to learn more about this author’s work check out this, this and this.

wolves blog tour poster
Hint: Fans of Varg Veum and Gunnar’s writing in Scotland may wish to keep an eye on the 2017 Tidelines Book festival website.
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: